Tuesday, 16 August 2011

Being American....

[Sian's bit]
In the UK I hate enormous cars.  The take over the over busy roads, they are generally driven by people who think they own the road and they pollute the environment.  In America however it seems perfectly fine to have bought this monster of a car!



Not only will it seat 7 people it also has room for 7 peoples worth of luggage.  Perfect for when we have visitors and also upcoming road trips to Yosemite in November and Disney in Feb which were the primary reasons for buying it.  It is very old and a bit battered but as long as it lasts us for 2 years it can then die in a heap on the roadside and that's absolutely fine.
Phia and T absolutely love it, mainly because they can actually run around inside in.  It brings back memories of playing house in my grandparents campervan as a kid.  I'm sure if I put their plastic kitchen and the potty in it they can do the same thing!  I keep thinking back to my time travelling round Oz when I had a job working in a youth hostel.  As well as my duties of cleaning toilets, selling people trips they weren't really that interested in doing and skiving off work wherever possible to swim in the pool or go to the pub, I also had to drive a 15 seater minibus to collect people from the airport.  I managed to do this for 3 months without an accident.  Yes the Australians do drive on the right side (by that I mean left side) of the road but surely if I can do that then I can master the Grand Dodge Caravan.  Only time will tell!
So, we now have the American style house and the large American car to go with it.  Some aspects of America (or Northern California I should say as America is a big place) are becoming fairly commonplace.  Seeing a palm tree no longer reminds me of being on holiday, I never think to take a jacket anywhere (apart from San Fran which is cold - so glad we don't live there), the sound of cicadas chirping as we go to sleep has become very familiar (although Phia still makes us put a fan on outside her door as she claims they keep her awake), waiting for 5 minutes at a left turn red light no longer sends me into a complete rage and seeing possums in the garden no longer sends me into hysterics.  Living on one floor continues to suit us really well.  This house is something we would never have chosen on our initial house hunting trip and yet my rash and overly emotional decision to move at a moments notice has paid off as it is home and even with its drawbacks we all really like it.
So have we been swayed by the American way of life.  Not really!  The kids are still obsessed by the American flag as it really does fly in every street and on many buildings.  They both do 'stars and stripes' spotting on every journey.  The fact that they know the American flag so well and not the British one is something I feel the need to correct.  I have shown Phia the Union Jack and St Georges Cross (both of which she refers to as the flags of Cambourne!) but she always ends up saying 'but stars and stripes is our flag now mummy'! Nooooo.  Its funny as I've never felt overly patriotic about being British but I do now (even with whats going on at home at the moment).  Phia came home from preschool the other day and said ' mummy, would you like me to show you how to pledge allegiance to the flag?!' - it makes me feel very weird to know she is doing this and I'm not sure I like it.
I have to say though that both Phia and T's accents remain resolutely English.  Lots of people told me that their accents would be one of the first things to change and so I thought this might have happened by now but it really hasn't.  Apart from Phia calling us 'Hey. you guys' and everything being 'super cool' she now sounds like she comes from Bedford (dropping her t's) and T sounds like he's from the West Country. Its weird!  I'm pretty sure that over a couple of years here their accents will change but I wonder how much.  I wonder too, when we eventually go home, will the kids feel British or American?  I'm not sure I want to know the answer!
As well, its not just my random fear of American flags that doesn't sit easily.  There's still the old moan of driving round here - my god they neeeed some roundabouts.  I've stop being frustrated because it gets you nowhere but even so.  Steve thinks the driving round here is really funny and likes to show people his 'European' driving (which basically means tearing away at traffic lights leaving everyone else for dust and pushing in queues at the last minute).  There's also shopping without getting hassled (virtually impossible).  Even in supermarkets you can't browse because they minute you look like you're not quite sure what you're looking for someone is by your side 'can I help you ma'am?'  Just walking down the aisles sometimes someone will just pop up from nowhere 'did you find everything you were looking for ma'am?.  Its like being in Dixons when every staff member wants to sell you the 40 inch plasma TV!  And generally I'm deciding which can of tomatoes to buy!  Not knowing brands well I just want to explore the options (on my own!) and I find it really irritating.  I'm afraid the British way of being left well and truly alone (even when you wouldn't mind some help!) ultimately wins for me.
Homesickness over the past 4 months for me has been like an illness and one that I was completely not expecting to hit me so hard.  I never though we would come here and 'become American' but nor did I think it would be such a completely different way of life.  It is a life now that gets a little easier as the days pass.  We've had a great weekend. met up with friends and met some lovely new people.  Today we have had a fabulous day playing at a friends house in the morning and having friends over to ours in the afternoon.  But things do bring you back to earth with a bump.  We went to a BBQ at Steve's bosses house and the kids and I met some of his work colleagues one of whom had a little girl of Phia's age.  They played beautifully together for the entire evening and both cried when it was time to leave.  But it transpires that Phia is desperate to see this little girl again 'because she looks just Lily mummy, she's got the same hair and everything'.  Yesterday was also a bit of a sad one for me as my good friend Clare went home to good old Blighty.  She came out for 3 months to decide whether she wanted to make the move out here and has decided not.  I totally understand her reasons but I'll miss her lots.
Still things do change all the time, especially out here.  As Kanye West says 'that that doesn't kill you, will only make you stronger' (Well it possibly was someone else that said this first but the sentiment is there!)

[Steve's perspective]
In the UK, I love enormous cars. They make a very nice noise and if we plant enough trees and stop the Beckhams flying to and from Los Angeles every week I think the environmental impact can be considered marginal. However, I think minivans are the scourge of the earth. They're usually a normal saloon car with a huge heavy body bolted to the top and are driven by observationally-challenged 'soccer moms'.

I can't quite believe Sian talked me into buying one of these monsters but secretly I quite like it. It's got a nice engine and I can just put my bike in the boot without rearranging the seats or anything. Sure it's got its problems - the passenger door and window don't open; the windscreen wipers come on randomly and considering the state of the bodywork, the previous owner most definitely came into the observationally-challenged category. Sophia and Tommy love it though so it's fine by me. Sian and I have an agreement that the next car we get has only two seats and no roof. Well, kind of.

Other than that, work's good and I've not been killed cycling to and from yet which (I think) Sian considers a positive. S and especially T love the weather. Tommy is at the terrible twos stage but in fairness to him, he's not as stroppy as I remember Sophia being at that age. He's got more questions in his head than there is time in the day and he's delightful when he's joining in with the family sing-songs in the traffic queues. Sophia is growing up into a little girl and is able to carry pretty sophisticated conversations about the moon or travel or whatever else piques her curiosity.

Maybe the only thing left is to keep Bolton where they are now!

Thursday, 4 August 2011

Knickers and Pink Doughnuts

We're driving along the mountain roads to our favourite beach Santa Cruz.  All is quiet in the car when suddenly this little but loud voice yells from the back 'knickers'!  It is of course Tommy who then starts giggling at himself and puts 'knickers' on repeat getting louder and louder.  Phia then joins in and the chanting turns into 'boys knickers' which doesn't end until we pull into the car park at Santa Cruz.  This sums T up very well at the moment.  At 2 and a half he is full of toilet humour and basically being a little boy.  Whilst picking his nose the other day he declared 'I can't get my bogey mummy, you pick it out for me'!  Nice.  I have to admit that California life suits him very well.  He's as brown as a button, his hair is even blonder (if thats possible) and he loves spending his time in parks and swimming or just running around our back garden with no clothes on.  He's a real outdoor boy and enjoys life to the max.  Don't get me wrong, when life doesn't go his way, he can be as stubborn and sulky as his sister, perhaps even more so but when life is good, its great in T's world.
Phia on the other hand as taken up whinging for a living.  'But muummmy, I don't want to go to preschool', 'but muummmy, I want to play with my Cambourne friends', 'but muummmy I don't want to go to the park' 'but muummmy, I don't like America, you can't get pink doughtnuts in America', 'but muummmmy I want a pink doughnut now' But muummmmmmy............' Arrhhh!!  Ok I'm probably being quite harsh on her but she is being hard work at the moment.  I can't decide whether its because I haven't settled here yet that makes it be the same for her because in the eyes of a child life out here is pretty good.  The parks are beautiful, there is a selection of lovely outdoor pools to choose from and also lots of funfairs.  Not a week goes by without going on some type of ride.  We are also starting to settle into a pattern of seeing people on a regular basis and she gets excited about seeing her new friends.  However if there's a moan to be had about living in America, Phia will find it!  I suppose she's her mother daughter and I'm exactly the same!
Its funny because we have had a month of visitors for nearly the entirety of July but I have been feeling more homesick than even.  Difficult to put my finger exactly on why but it certainly hasn't helped that Ste's work have sent him out to Korea, twice now.  The first time was during Granny and Pop's visit but he is out there now and this week I've been all on my lonesome.  Its difficult as I know he loves his work and he's getting on really well and enjoying things for the first time in a long time.  However travel was never mentioned and I just didn't sign up for being here on my own.  They've promised for the last time this year but we'll see.  Right now I have no idea what the future out here holds for us.  All I do know it that we're bankrupt as have now shelled out for flights home in Oct, Dec and next May (the kids and I are coming home without Ste for 3 weeks - I'm sure 11 hours on a plane on my own with a 5 year old and a 3 year old will be a breeze!)  I have to admit it feels really good to know we've definitely got seats on those planes and will be getting our England fix on a regular basis.  We've also booked a holiday to Disneyland in LA next February for the kids birthday treat.  Granny and Pops are coming too and we are all really looking forward to it.  I have made the mistake of telling Phia all about it and showing her stuff on the internet so it her less whingy moments she is full of Candiland (which is her name for Disney for some reason) her birthday itself and her birthday party.  Feel we've peaked too soon as its 7 months away - opps!  Still lots of lovely things to look forward to.
Like I said its been a month of visitors.  Granny and Pops came for nearly 2 weeks followed shortly by Grandma and Grandpa for another nearly 2 weeks.  The kids have had a ball and have been thoroughly spoilt by attention.  We have also moved house to our new home in Mountain View during this time.  And I have to say I love it.  I would never have considered living in a bungalow at home but I definitely would now.  Being all on one level is great as it makes you use all of the space in the house.  The house itself is smaller than Greenhaze Lane but it feels bigger just because we're using all the space rather than just the downstairs.  The house is quite old and could do with a bit of tarting up but that is completely made up for by the garden which is huge and wonderful.  How we coped in a place with no outdoors in this climate for so long I really have no idea.  The kids love it, playing in the paddling pool or racing round in cars or T practicing his newly aquried soccer, sorry football skills!  I love it as I've got my whirlly gig up and can finally dry my washing outside under beautiful blue skies rather than racking up bills using the dryer (I do NOT understand the American love for the tumble drier!).  We are also much closer to the people we know and the things we do and the area itself is really lovely.  We already know all our neighbours and the people across the street invited us to their daughter Franjessica's (as Phia insists on calling her!) birthday party which happened to be a Dora party so went down very well indeed!
Anyway I will be uploading some pictures of our first 4 months and a little video of the kids guided tour of the house on facebook so you can see what we've been up to.  The next month or so holds more of the same I think.  However we have decided that things do have to change somewhat to make the most of our time out here.  As much as I try to be a maternal mother earth type character, no matter how nice the day has been I'm always ready to sell the kids at the end of the day!  As I can't work I do really need to do something that doesn't involve the kids.  So I'm going to start Zumbaing and I'm going to join the Sunnyvale Singers!  While the kids are at preschool I'm also going to a start a writing course - have 4 books currently ongoing, a child's one, a young teens one, an adult one and a travel/autobiography one.  I want to be able to choose one and actually write it!  So keep an eye out in Waterstones for my name!  Ok, maybe not but at least it will give me a focus and I hope to regain some of my sanity that seems to have deserted me over the last four months!
On Ste's part he's going to start going to Tennis and is going to some home early a couple of nights a week so we can have tea together - small things and all that but hopefully we help us to settle.  We've also decided to change Sophia's preschool.  I feel the kids and I need to make more of the time we spend together.  When Phia is at preschool T and I tend to hang around waiting for her to finish.  I have to admit I really want proper school for her as she is so ready to learn but its not going to happen, preschool is preschool and we've decided to send her a little less and so we can all do more classes together.  Granny is currently on a mission sourcing book bags and reading records etc so we can try and teach her the foundations of reading ourselves.  Am so not into home schooling but really don't want her to get left behind especially if we come home.  Anyway as we've never all really settled into her current preschool and it is soooo expensive the next change is our lives will be happening shortly!   I have found a new preschool up the road, where everyone drops off and picks up at the same time, it has a PTA and is half the price.  She seems fine about moving (as she only has to do 2 days as opposed to 4 - although they are full days rather than half she doesn't realise this yet!) and Tommy will start with her.  Hopefully it will give us a chance to meet more people in the immediate area and perhaps some children that will go to school with Phia the year after.  We can but hope anyway!  So Tuesday and Thursday mornings (T only doing the mornings) will become my own as of September and I can't wait!
Ste's is back tomorrow and its been a long old week and not one I want to repeat in the near future.  However having said that it has also proved to me that I am ok out here and already have some lovely friends.  We have not spent one day on our own and have had lots of people to keep us company and even feed and water us - so if you're reading this friends in America - thank you!  And as soon as Ste walks in through the door tomorrow the children are all his and I'm off to a makeup party!
As for all family and friends at home - miss you all lots, Oct not too far away now! xxxx

These photos are soooo difficult to organise in this blog - I will write a capition but they are all in the wrong order - still they give a flavour of life!

In Rivermark


Yo yo
The May rain

Monterey aquarium

Touchpools









Santa Cruz with pops


Visit to a firehouse









Los Altos Cheese and Wine festival

The train park
Making an octopod
Fun in the garden

Riconada pool




Fairyland






Feeding goats at Happy Hollow










Santa Cruz rides


The seal lions sunbathing

Sian and Phia

Gorgeous Santa Cruz

Dinner at Ideals dinner



Francesca's party

Pin the boot on Boots!








More Santa Cruz!